Coming Home from Cornell…Briefly

Hey Guys,
This blog idea is fantastic. I’m glad I have a place to keep up with what’s going on with everyone. Just an update on my life right now:
I’m wrapping up my 3rd year of college, but my first here at Cornell. It’s been a tough two semesters; Chemical Engineering hasn’t given me any breaks, but I’m sure Uncles Dan and Mike can relate. I’ve been considering changing my major to a dual Chemistry/Government degree, so I can pursue both passions, but we’ll see how that works out.
Campus Crusade for Christ has been a huge part of my life here at Cornell. I’ve made a lot of good friends and really had the chance to be seriously mentored by older Christians for the first time. Cornell can be a pretty dark campus spiritually, and these relationships have encouraged me to fight the good fight, share my faith, and avoid most of the temptations associated with college life. I’m also part of the College Republicans, Cornell Coalition for Life, and I’ve recently started writing for the Cornell Daily Sun, our campus newspaper.

I’ve been to the old store Grandpa ran near Binghamton. It’s funny to think I’m living only 45 min from where the family began. I can see why Grandma and Grandpa left here though, the weather is ridiculous! It’s terribly cold for way to long, and then all of a sudden the weather changes like a person with bi-polar disorder. Case in point, a week or two ago it got up to 90 degrees, and then 48 hours later was in the lower 40s. It’s hard to keep up with what to wear.

We made the 20 hour drive from Ithaca, NY to Panama City, FL. On the way we stopped by the house to see the family.
Me and Sarah P, enjoying the fine desserts made by all the girls.
This is how we celebrate Birthdays in Crusade. Lots of Cake…on the face. My friend Sammy got the worst of it here.
These are some of my friends from Crusade, who all graduated this year. We’re a pretty diverse group of people.
I was the MC for Cru Dessert, an end of the year event where we reflected on the semester and what God has done in our lives. This is me and some friends at the Campus Crusade Big break conference in Panama city. We spent an awesome week at the beach during MTV’s “Spring Break” party, sharing the gospel with people and getting to know other Christians from around the country.

Here’s a picture of me horsing around with Jack Betts, one of the Crusade staffer’s kids.

-Adam

4 thoughts on “Coming Home from Cornell…Briefly

  1. Grandma says:

    Thanks for sending the great newsy letter. I am so glad that you are having some Christian fellowship in such a spiritually dark environment. Thanks for all the cool pictures.

  2. Hey there. So good to see your pictures and hear how things are going! We missed having you for a visit this year, but guess those days are over at this stage in your life. God bless you in your wonderful work for Him. Thanks for sharing!!!

  3. Thanks for sharing your news and pictures, Adam. We enjoyed reading up on your life and seeing the pictures. We’re so thankful that you were able to plug into some good groups and be surrounded by other believers. It’s hard to go it alone! Congrats on your hard work at school; we’re proud of you.

  4. It’s good to see that you’re able to balance some fun with the enormous workload that (engineering) college requires. One of my professors addressed the class after he got some complaints about our workload. He told us that if we were getting more than three or four hours of sleep each night, we were lazy! Hang tough! It won’t last forever.

Leave a Reply

